A Little Bit Of Freedom

Two days ago I heard about the hunger strike of the Palestinians in the Israeli prisons which had been going on since months, but I have just heard about it, not because I watched news or asked about how things are in Palestine, but because I logged into Facebook and found that over 20 of my friends had changed their profile pictures into the same image, so I was curious to know more details, I read and asked about it, then I understood it all.

Thousands of Palestinian prisoners had been on hunger strike for almost 76 days, very brave men had put their lives on stake to taste a little bit of freedom, they screamed and let their voice be heard, they stayed on hunger until their demands were granted, and so they were.

– the right to learn
– the removal of individual isolation
– their right for visitations
– their needs for medications

Yesterday the biggest hunger strike in history were ended, and that was a triumph indeed, people all over the world were taking a stand to support them, the Celtic team of Scotland raised the Palestinian flag in their playground, people were supporting in Ireland, Spain and all over the world, but we had our own special way of support, we changed our profile pictures!

When did we become so blind that we can’t see the problem only through pictures and Facebook posts? And when we hear about it we become very angry that we feel obliged to change our profile picture like everyone did and immediately update a new status, is that all we got? I didn’t change my profile picture even though I’m thankful that everybody did because otherwise it might not have stolen my attention to it and I wouldn’t have known everything about it, but still we must do things other than following the crowds, changing a profile picture is good for spreading the word, but don’t let it be just it, speak with your own voice and make it loud so it shall be heard, the voices of the prisoners were so loud that their echoes were reflected in each soul, through the solitary prisons they made a change and let their voice pass across each land, free men they are in their solitude and we are still locked outside.

I as a Palestinian know well the insistence and free will of the Palestinian spirit, and this strike had given the whole world a glimpse of this spirit, for we have been living in the occupation for over 60 years, and even though all the devastation and destruction that we lived, we still believe that one day we shall find peace.

 
My Ebook
My Facebook Page
My Twitter

7 thoughts on “A Little Bit Of Freedom

  1. I precisely wanted to say thanks all over again. I’m not certain the things that I would’ve undertaken without the tips contributed by you regarding this area of interest. It was actually an absolute fearsome concern in my view, but looking at this skilled way you managed the issue forced me to weep with fulfillment. I’m just thankful for your support and in addition hope that you recognize what an amazing job you have been undertaking educating men and women thru a site. I’m certain you’ve never met any of us.

  2. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good. I do not know who you are but certainly you’re going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

  3. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I’ve truly enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

  4. Great article and right to the point. I don’t know if this is really the best place to ask but do you guys have any ideea where to get some professional writers? Thanks in advance 🙂

Leave a Reply

