Dismantling Twenty-Some Years of Social Programming. Part 1

“Isn’t it funny how day by day nothing changes, but when you look back, everything is different…” C.S Lewis

A couple of weeks ago I had an epiphany… actually it was a week ago… come to think of it I am not quite sure when it happened. I struggle sometimes remembering small events, not sure if I had dinner last night… it’s all very blurry.

In my defense, I do have tendencies to take life in chunks, who has time for small stuff, right?

Epiphany! I am not sure that can happen to me. I am not that rich.

The hell with it I will entertain the idea, I had a cup of coffee with a friend, after two long hours of jibber jabbering as usual I often go back home and go repeatedly through my phone for two more hours till I faint. That night I decided to read a book, and for the next week or two my life started to change and I didn’t waste a minute. That was it.

I wish I can make it sound more interesting than it actually is I am no Hollywood actor after all, there is no director to throw in some background music and tell me to shapeshift to another version of me and stare with wide eyes as if I can see clearly for the first time ever. No cast around sitting up the perfect venue that brings importance to the conversation, my friend is no supporting actor who can recite a well-studied sentence while pausing in the middle to convey how thoughtful his words are, he usually stutters.

There was no build-up of events that day, the conversation didn’t even climax. It was too smooth and too real and maybe that’s what I wanted.

We all have a list of things to do, countries to visit, books to read, movies to watch, hobbies to follow, sports to practice and we keep on waiting for the right time and we are still waiting.

I am not sure my words makes perfect sense, I guess John Mayer describes it better.

A.S

One thought on “Dismantling Twenty-Some Years of Social Programming. Part 1

Leave a Reply

